St. Paul gets the Stick out!

Today’s First Reading at Mass is one of my favorites.  No soft-pedaling, here; St. Paul comes out and says it clearly:

O stupid Galatians!
Who has bewitched you,
before whose eyes Jesus Christ was publicly portrayed as crucified?
I want to learn only this from you:
did you receive the Spirit from works of the law,
or from faith in what you heard?
Are you so stupid?

Pretty clear, huh?

Why so strong, though?  St. Paul just doesn’t mean ‘stupid’ as simple minded, or mistaken; he is trying to wake them up that their salvation is a jeopardy by what they are doing.  Hence, nothing is more important!  The Galatians are adding unnecessary things from the Mosaic Law code, and he is trying to get them to keep the practice of the faith pure, as he taught it to them.

What are the trappings of this world that get in the way of our practice of the faith?

One response to “St. Paul gets the Stick out!

  1. That is one of my favorites, too. In fact, once when I had to write out my favorite Bible verse for a class at the Athenaeum, my mind went blank and that was the only thing I could think of! I love how exasperated Paul sounds. Sure he loved all the churches — but he got pretty fed up, sometimes. When he says things like that, you know you are reading a real letter to real people from a real person, not just an essay made to look like a letter.

    According to the class, that verse is one of my favorites because I sometimes need to be hit on the head in exasperation myself. I won’t say it isn’t true…

Leave a Reply

