But what am I to say?

One of my personal favorite readings, the beginning of Jeremiah is often read at Ordinations to either the priesthood or diaconate:

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I dedicated you,
a prophet to the nations I appointed you.
“Ah, Lord GOD!” I said,
(I know not how to speak; I am too young.”

But the LORD answered me,
Say not, “I am too young.”
To whomever I send you, you shall go;
whatever I command you, you shall speak.
Have no fear before them,
because I am with you to deliver you, says the LORD.

These words should give us the confidence to trust that Our Lord is with us as we go about the mission He has given.  Whether we are young or old, He still provides the grace and the words necessary to convey His message, and that constant refrain: ‘Fear not!’

-Fr. Kyle Schnippel

One response to “But what am I to say?

  1. That’s one of my favorite readings, too.

Leave a Reply

